5th Board of Directors Meeting of CIED-IUST Foundation

The 5th Board of Directors meeting of CIED-IUST Foundation was held today under the chairmanship of Professor Shakil A. Romshoo, Vice Chancellor of IUST and Chairman BoD.

In solidarity with the tragic killing of innocent civilians by terrorists in Pahalgam, the Board observed a two-minute silence as a mark of respect and remembrance.

The meeting was coordinated by Prof. Parvez A Mir, CEO CIED-IUST Foundation and focused on strengthening efforts to develop a robust ecosystem of innovation and entrepreneurship in Jammu and Kashmir. Key discussions included the launch of new training programs, the effective implementation of the DPIIT Startup India Seed Fund Scheme, the DST NIDHI i-TBI initiative, the SIDBI STEM Program and Executive Development Program on Transformation Leadership as well as the expansion of incubation programs aimed at supporting early-stage entrepreneurs.

During the meeting, the Board also approved the logo of the Foundation. The proposed budget for the financial year 2025–26 was presented and deliberated upon, and discussions were held regarding the publication of various reports documenting the Foundation's activities and future plans.

Professor Romshoo appreciated the ongoing efforts of CIED-IUST Foundation in nurturing an ecosystem of innovation in Kashmir. He also acknowledged the support extended by the Ministry of Education, DST, DPIIT, SIDBI and the Government of Jammu & Kashmir in these endeavors. Emphasizing the importance of research and innovation, he underscored the need for increased patent filings and encouraged students as well as faculty members to actively engage in innovative and entrepreneurial pursuits. He also directed all coordinators of various labs to ensure optimal utilization of the available training facilities.

The meeting was attended by Prof. A. H. Moon, Dean Academic Affairs; Mr. Sameer Wazir, Finance Officer; Dr. Aabid Shalla, In-Charge Registrar; along with various Deans, Directors, the Principal of IUST Polytechnic College, officers of CIED-IUST Foundation and other administrative officials of the University.